pxlsafeadobe video partnerChecked

Comparison · AI reel editors for Premiere Pro

AutoReel vs AutoCut for talking-head reels in Premiere Pro

AutoCut gives you a tool for each step of a talking-head edit; AutoReel runs the steps as one build.

Both clean up the recording inside Premiere Pro. AutoCut’s tools remove repeated takes, filler words and silences, add zooms and captions, and do more besides, in Premiere Pro and DaVinci Resolve, for less a month. AutoReel builds the reel itself: your best take with the pauses gone, a punched-up hook, captions, color and sound effects. It’s in beta.

The AutoReel mascot, a monkey with film-reel ears and a headset, weighs two cards on a balance: a finished vertical reel with captions and a set of separate editing tools.

Which one fits you?

The same raw take, two different deals. Here’s when each one is the better pick.

Fits better if…

AutoCut

  • You also edit in DaVinci Resolve. AutoCut runs in Resolve 18.6 to 21, free or Studio. AutoReel runs only in Premiere Pro.
  • You want to run and check each step yourself. Each AutoCut tool has its own button, and Repeat shows you what it will cut before it cuts.
  • You cut podcasts, interviews or long videos too. AutoCut switches podcast cameras by speaker, clips long videos into shorts, adds B-roll and chapters, and resizes sequences to 9:16 in Premiere.
  • You make a lot of videos. AutoCut’s pages state no time limit on projects. AutoReel plans include 50 reels a month or 1,000 a year.
  • You want to pay less. AutoCut’s AI Plan is $19.80/mo, or $14.90/mo billed yearly. AutoReel is $29/mo or $249/yr.
  • You want a longer trial without a card. AutoCut’s is 14 days with no card. AutoReel’s is 3 days for $1 with 3 reels, with your card saved at checkout.
  • Your footage is in a language AutoReel doesn’t list. AutoCut lists over 80. AutoReel lists 38.
Fits better if…

AutoReel

We make this
  • You want the reel built in one pass. One build keeps your best take, cuts the pauses, punches up the hook, grades, captions and adds sound effects. AutoCut’s help suggests running Repeat, Silences, AutoZoom and AutoCaptions one after another.
  • You want your footage graded. AutoReel applies a look you pick, converting log footage first. AutoCut’s pages don’t mention color.
  • You want the hook punched up. Zooms, sound effects and hook text on the first seconds of the reel.
  • You want sound effects on your cuts. Flashes, shutters, drops and risers, timed to your cuts. AutoCut adds sounds to its zooms and Advanced captions.
  • You want your original sequence left alone. AutoReel builds the reel as a new sequence, and by default stops once the cut lands so you can trim before captions and effects go on.

How AutoReel edits a reel

Screen recordings of the panel in Premiere Pro. We make AutoReel; this is what the trial gives you.

It keeps your best takeDouble takes, ums, repeats and false starts come out. The take that lands stays, without sorting them by hand.
Start your $1 trial

Try AutoReel on your own footage: 3 days for $1 with 3 reels.

The one-minute demo and a before-and-after of the same take are on the AutoReel page.

What AutoReel doesn’t do

Where AutoCut goes further, and what else to know first.

The AutoReel mascot raises one hand as if taking an oath, the other hand on a red-brown manual.
  • It doesn’t run in DaVinci Resolve. It’s a panel for Premiere Pro on Mac and Windows.
  • It doesn’t cut podcasts or clip long videos. It edits one talking-head reel at a time. AutoCut’s Podcast, AutoViral and AutoChapters cover those jobs.
  • It doesn’t add B-roll or music. It adds sound effects on the cuts; B-roll and music are yours to add.
  • It doesn’t bring every graphic to older Premiere versions. Some bundled graphics need Premiere Pro 2026.
  • It doesn’t edit offline. The audio it needs is uploaded for transcription, and the transcript goes to AI services. Your video files stay on your computer.
  • It isn’t unlimited. Monthly includes 50 reels a month and Yearly 1,000 a year.
  • It isn’t out of beta. It edits reels end to end and is still improving.

Side by side

As of 22 October 2026.

Left: AutoReel, from our own page and the panel itself. Right: AutoCut, from its site and help center. “Not stated” means the cited pages don’t say. Prices are in USD as listed on 22 October 2026.

AutoReel and AutoCut, as of 22 October 2026.
QuestionAutoReel (us)AutoCut
Where it runsSource: pxlsafe.com/autoreel · AutoCut system requirementsInside Premiere Pro, on Mac (the helper needs macOS 13 or later) and Windows. Every bundled graphic needs Premiere Pro 2026Inside Premiere Pro Versions 2023, 2024, 2025 or 2026 or DaVinci Resolve 18.6 to 21, on macOS 11+ or Windows 10+
How the edit runsSource: pxlsafe.com/autoreel · AutoCut help: Repeat workflowOne build from the raw take to a reel: it keeps your best take, cuts the pauses, punches up the hook, grades, captions and adds sound effectsA tool for each step, each with its own button. Its help center suggests Repeat, then Silences, AutoZoom and AutoCaptions, and captions once your edit is locked
Takes and filler wordsSource: pxlsafe.com/autoreel · AutoCut Repeat · AutoCut help: using RepeatDouble takes, ums, repeats and false starts come out. The take that lands staysRepeat detects and removes repeated takes, filler words or unwanted segments, helped by a script you paste; you review what it cuts first
PausesSource: pxlsafe.com/autoreel · AutoCut Silences · AutoCut help: Silences settingsLong silences come outSilences finds quiet parts by volume; you set how long a silence must be and the padding, with optional J- and L-cuts. It’s the only tool on the Basic plan
Before and after a runSource: pxlsafe.com/autoreel · AutoCut help: undo a runIt builds the reel as a new Premiere sequence. By default it stops once the cut lands, so you can trim before captions and effects go onIt makes a backup automatically; Restore backup works right after a run, until you close AutoCut or run another tool
The hook and zoomsSource: pxlsafe.com/autoreel · AutoCut help: AutoZoom layers · AutoCut help: AutoZoom settingsZooms, sound effects and hook text on the first secondsAutoZoom adds zooms through the video as adjustment layers, at a rhythm you pick, with optional zoom sounds. Hook text: not stated
CaptionsSource: pxlsafe.com/autoreel · AutoCut AutoCaptions · AutoCut Advanced captions · AutoCut blog: animated captions · AutoCut updatesCustom captions, timed to your speech, as Premiere graphics with editable textWord-by-word AutoCaptions, which come in as a subsequence of native text and shapes. Advanced mode, in beta, has 90+ editable presets. Translation and emojis
ColorSource: pxlsafe.com/autoreel · autocut.comPick a look and it’s applied as part of the edit. Log footage is converted firstNot stated
Sound effectsSource: pxlsafe.com/autoreel · AutoCut help: AutoZoom settings · AutoCut Advanced captionsFlashes, shutters, drops and risers, timed to your cutsZoom sounds in AutoZoom, and sound design in Advanced captions
B-roll and musicSource: pxlsafe.com/autoreel · AutoCut help: B-roll sourcesNeither is added; both are yours to addAutoB-Rolls adds Pexels and Storyblocks footage and AI images. Music: not stated
Other jobsSource: pxlsafe.com/autoreel · AutoCut help: Podcast · AutoCut help: AutoViral · AutoCut AutoResizeNot listed on our pagePodcast camera switching (two or more mics), AutoViral clips from long videos, AutoChapters, a profanity filter, and AutoResize to 9:16 in Premiere
LanguagesSource: pxlsafe.com/autoreel · AutoCut help: languages38 for speech transcription, plus automatic detection. A mixed-language option covers 10over 80 languages
What’s uploadedSource: pxlsafe.com/autoreel · AutoCut privacy policy · AutoCut help: local or onlineThe audio, for transcription; the transcript goes to AI services. Your video files stay on your computerA low-quality audio track for its AI tools, deleted within 24 hours. Videos and projects stay on your computer
PriceSource: pxlsafe.com/autoreel · AutoCut pricingMonthly $29/mo or Yearly $249/yr. Every feature on bothAI Plan (every tool) $19.80/mo, or $14.90/mo billed yearly ($178.80). Basic (Silences) $9.90/mo, or $6.60/mo yearly. Enterprise from 2 licenses
Usage limitsSource: pxlsafe.com/autoreel · autocut.com50 reels a month on Monthly, 1,000 a year on YearlyAutoCut has no time limit for video projects
TrialSource: pxlsafe.com/autoreel · AutoCut help: trial key · autocut.com3 days for $1 with 3 reels. Nothing more is charged until day 314 days with every feature, no card; the key comes by email. Its home page also offers 28 days through an email form
LicenseSource: pxlsafe.com/autoreel · AutoCut help: another computerOne person, on up to 2 devicesOne computer at a time; a key moves to another computer up to 3 times

AutoCut alternatives

Other tools that edit talking-head footage, with what their own pages say. The full comparison, with prices, is in our AI reel editor guide.

Premiere Pro panelWe make this

AutoReel

Builds the reel in one pass: best take, no pauses, a punched-up hook, captions, color and sound effects.

Price
$29/mo or $249/yr, 3 days for $1 with 3 reels
Premiere Pro and DaVinci Resolve panel

FireCut

Its Magic cut, on the Max plan, turns a raw talking-head recording into a first edit with zooms, captions, titles and chapters.

AutoReel vs FireCut
Built into Premiere

Premiere Pro’s own tools

Text-Based Editing deletes every pause or filler word at once, and captions come from the transcript. It doesn’t choose between takes for you.

Remove pauses in Premiere

Questions people ask

Plans, the trial and installing are on the AutoReel page.

Is AutoReel an alternative to AutoCut?

For talking-head reels, yes. Both run inside Premiere Pro and cut the retakes, filler words and pauses out of a recording. AutoCut gives you a tool for each step, and its help center suggests running Repeat, Silences, AutoZoom and then AutoCaptions. AutoReel does those steps in one build and also grades the footage and adds sound effects. AutoCut also runs in DaVinci Resolve and has tools AutoReel doesn’t, for podcasts, B-roll, chapters, clipping long videos and resizing to 9:16.

How much does AutoCut cost compared with AutoReel?

AutoCut’s AI Plan, with every tool, is $19.80 a month, or $14.90 a month billed yearly ($178.80), and its Basic plan, with Silences only, is $9.90 a month, as of 22 October 2026. AutoCut’s pages state no time limit on projects. AutoReel is $29/mo for 50 reels a month or $249/yr for 1,000 reels a year. AutoCut costs less and isn’t capped by count; AutoReel does more of the reel in one pass.

How long are the free trials?

AutoCut’s is 14 days with every feature and no card: you get a trial key by email. Its home page also offers 28 days through an email form. AutoReel’s is 3 days for $1 with 3 reels: and nothing more is charged until day 3.

Does AutoCut work in DaVinci Resolve?

Yes. AutoCut’s help center lists DaVinci Resolve 18.6 to 21, and its home page says every feature works in both the free version and Studio. AutoReel runs only in Premiere Pro.

Does AutoCut add color or sound effects?

AutoCut’s pages don’t mention color grading or LUTs. It adds sounds in places: zoom sounds in AutoZoom, sound design in its Advanced captions and bleeps in its profanity filter. AutoReel grades your footage with a look you pick, converting log footage first, and times sound effects to your cuts across the reel.

Can I edit the captions in Premiere?

With both. AutoCut’s blog says its animated captions come in as a subsequence of native text and shapes inside your sequence, which you double-click to edit. AutoReel’s captions are Premiere graphics whose text you can edit on the timeline.

Does either one upload my video?

No. AutoCut’s privacy policy says it uploads a low-quality audio track for its AI tools, deletes it within 24 hours, and that your videos never leave your device. AutoReel uploads the audio it needs to transcribe your footage, sends the transcript text to AI services, and keeps your video files on your computer.

Is this comparison neutral?

No comparison written by one of the two makers is neutral, and we make AutoReel. So every AutoCut fact comes from AutoCut’s own pages, linked and dated, and we leave out any opinion of its quality. Spot an error? Email support@pxlsafe.com and we’ll fix it.

Sources, checked 22 October 2026

Spot something out of date? Email support@pxlsafe.com and we’ll fix it. Product names on this page are trademarks of their owners. PxlSafe isn’t affiliated with or endorsed by the other companies named here.