pxlsafeadobe video partnerChecked

Comparison · AI reel editors for Premiere Pro

AutoReel vs FireCut for talking-head reels in Premiere Pro

Both turn a raw talking-head recording into an edit in one pass, inside Premiere Pro.

FireCut’s Magic cut, on its Max plan, removes the bad takes and pauses and adds zooms, captions, titles and chapters, and FireCut also runs in DaVinci Resolve. AutoReel builds the reel itself: your best take with the pauses gone, a punched-up hook, captions, color and sound effects. It’s in beta.

The AutoReel mascot, a monkey with film-reel ears and a headset, weighs two cards on a balance: a finished vertical reel with captions and a set of separate editing tools.

Which one fits you?

The same raw take, two different deals. Here’s when each one is the better pick.

Fits better if…

FireCut

  • You also edit in DaVinci Resolve, or move between editors. AutoReel runs only in Premiere Pro.
  • You’re not on Premiere Pro 2026. FireCut needs Premiere Pro 2022 or later. Some of AutoReel’s bundled graphics need 2026.
  • You want to approve the cuts before the timeline is built. Magic cut can pause on your transcript so you grow, shrink or restore what it keeps.
  • You also cut podcasts and long YouTube videos. FireCut has podcast camera switching, YouTube chapters, B-roll, background music, and highlights clipped from long videos with an optional 9:16 reframe.
  • You want a week to try it. FireCut’s trial is 7 days. AutoReel’s is 3 days for $1 with 3 reels.
  • Your footage is in a language AutoReel doesn’t list. FireCut lists 50+ languages, with English fully supported and the rest experimental. AutoReel lists 38.
Fits better if…

AutoReel

We make this
  • You want the reel finished, not just cut. AutoReel grades the footage and adds sound effects on the cuts. FireCut’s Magic cut page doesn’t mention color or sound effects.
  • You want the hook punched up. Zooms, sound effects and hook text on the first seconds of the reel.
  • You shoot log. AutoReel converts it before it applies your look.
  • You want captions you restyle in Premiere. AutoReel’s captions are Premiere graphics with editable text. FireCut’s styled captions are .PNG images you edit through FireCut.
  • You want the one-pass edit for less. AutoReel is $29/mo or $249/yr. Magic cut needs FireCut Max: $44/mo, or $34/mo billed yearly.
  • You count reels, not hours. AutoReel plans include 50 reels a month, or 1,000 a year. FireCut Max includes 100 hours of transcription a month.

How AutoReel edits a reel

Screen recordings of the panel in Premiere Pro. We make AutoReel; this is what the trial gives you.

It keeps your best takeDouble takes, ums, repeats and false starts come out. The take that lands stays, without sorting them by hand.
Start your $1 trial

Try AutoReel on your own footage: 3 days for $1 with 3 reels.

The one-minute demo and a before-and-after of the same take are on the AutoReel page.

Side by side

As of 22 October 2026.

Left: AutoReel, from our own page and the panel itself. Right: FireCut for Premiere Pro, from its pages. “Not stated” means the cited pages don’t say. Prices are in USD as listed on 22 October 2026.

AutoReel and FireCut, as of 22 October 2026.
QuestionAutoReel (us)FireCut
Where it runsSource: pxlsafe.com/autoreel · firecut.aiInside Premiere Pro, on Mac (the helper needs macOS 13 or later) and Windows. Every bundled graphic needs Premiere Pro 2026Inside Premiere Pro, Requires Adobe Premiere Pro 2022+ (Windows or MacOS). A separate plugin runs in DaVinci Resolve
The one-pass editSource: pxlsafe.com/autoreel · FireCut docs: Magic cut · FireCut Premiere Pro pricingEvery plan: one build from raw footage to a reel. It keeps your best take, cuts the pauses, punches up the hook, grades, captions and adds sound effectsMagic cut, on the Max plan: it turns a raw, unedited talking-head recording into a finished first edit
Takes and false startsSource: pxlsafe.com/autoreel · FireCut docs: Magic cut · FireCut docs: repetitionDouble takes, ums, repeats and false starts come out. The take that lands staysMagic cut removes false starts, stutters and duplicate takes. On Pro, Remove repetition lets you pick the take to keep, and finds repeats only when they’re back to back
PausesSource: pxlsafe.com/autoreel · FireCut docs: Magic cut · FireCut Premiere Pro pricingLong silences come outMagic cut tightens pauses and cuts long silences inside what it keeps, with a crossfade at every cut. Silence cutting is on every plan
Before and after the buildSource: pxlsafe.com/autoreel · FireCut docs: Magic cutIt builds the reel as a new Premiere sequence, for you to review and make yoursOptionally, approve or adjust what it keeps on the transcript first. It builds a new sequence, with each extra on its own track
The hookSource: pxlsafe.com/autoreel · FireCut docs: Magic cutZooms, sound effects and hook text on the first secondsNot a separate step. Magic cut adds zooms, punch-outs and titles, chosen from the video’s shape and length
CaptionsSource: pxlsafe.com/autoreel · FireCut docs: captionsCustom captions, timed to your speech, as Premiere graphics with editable textStyled captions are .PNG images that you edit through FireCut. A text-only mode makes a native Premiere captions track
ColorSource: pxlsafe.com/autoreel · FireCut docs: Magic cutPick a look and it’s applied as part of the edit. Log footage is converted firstNot stated
Sound effectsSource: pxlsafe.com/autoreel · FireCut docs: Magic cut · FireCut Premiere Pro pricingFlashes, shutters, drops and risers, timed to your cutsNot stated for Magic cut or the Premiere Pro plans
Music and B-rollSource: pxlsafe.com/autoreel · FireCut Premiere Pro pricingNot listed on our pageBackground music and Storyblocks B-roll on Pro and Max
Long videos into shortsSource: pxlsafe.com/autoreel · FireCut docs: highlightsNot listed on our pageCreate highlights clips long videos into shorts, with an optional 9:16 reframe, captions and B-roll
LanguagesSource: pxlsafe.com/autoreel · FireCut Premiere Pro pricing38 for speech transcription, plus automatic detection. A mixed-language option covers 1050+ supported languages: English fully supported, the rest experimental
InternetSource: pxlsafe.com/autoreel · firecut.aiNeeded. The audio is uploaded for transcription and the transcript goes to AI services. Your video files stay on your computerrequired when using FireCut features that call AI, transcription and other services
PriceSource: pxlsafe.com/autoreel · FireCut Premiere Pro pricingMonthly $29/mo or Yearly $249/yr. Every feature on bothMagic cut is on Max: $44/mo (listed down from $59), or $34/mo billed yearly (down from $39). Pro is $34/mo or $20/mo yearly, Starter $19/mo or $10/mo yearly, both without Magic cut. Lifetime pricing on request
Usage limitsSource: pxlsafe.com/autoreel · FireCut Premiere Pro pricing50 reels a month on Monthly, 1,000 a year on Yearly100 hours of transcription a month on Max, 25 on Pro
TrialSource: pxlsafe.com/autoreel · FireCut Premiere Pro pricing3 days for $1 with 3 reels. Nothing more is charged until day 37-day free trial. Whether it needs a card isn’t stated
LicenseSource: pxlsafe.com/autoreel · FireCut Premiere Pro pricingOne person, on up to 2 devicesTeam plan from $34 a user a month, billed monthly. Devices per license not stated

FireCut alternatives

Other tools that edit talking-head footage, with what their own pages say. The full comparison, with prices, is in our AI reel editor guide.

Premiere Pro panelWe make this

AutoReel

Builds the reel in one pass: best take, no pauses, a punched-up hook, captions, color and sound effects.

Price
$29/mo or $249/yr, 3 days for $1 with 3 reels
Premiere Pro and DaVinci Resolve panel

AutoCut

A tool for each step, run one after another: Repeat removes repeated takes and filler words, then Silences, AutoZoom and AutoCaptions. All tools from $19.80/mo, 14-day trial with no card.

AutoReel vs AutoCut
Built into Premiere

Premiere Pro’s own tools

Text-Based Editing deletes every pause or filler word at once, and captions come from the transcript. It doesn’t choose between takes for you.

Questions people ask

Plans, the trial and installing are on the AutoReel page.

Is AutoReel an alternative to FireCut?

Yes, for talking-head reels. Both run inside Premiere Pro and edit a raw talking-head recording in one pass: FireCut’s Magic cut builds a first edit, and AutoReel builds the reel. They differ in what that pass adds, how the captions land and the price. FireCut also runs in DaVinci Resolve and has separate tools for podcasts, YouTube chapters and clipping long videos.

Which FireCut plan has Magic cut?

Max: $44 a month (listed down from $59), or $34 a month billed yearly, with 100 hours of transcription a month, as of 22 October 2026. Pro, at $34 a month, has the separate tools for repetition, filler words, zooms and captions, but not Magic cut. AutoReel is $29/mo for 50 reels a month or $249/yr for 1,000 reels a year.

Does FireCut add color or sound effects?

Its Magic cut page lists zooms, punch-outs, captions, titles and chapters, and doesn’t mention color or sound effects. AutoReel grades your footage with a look you pick, converting log footage first, and adds sound effects timed to your cuts.

Can I edit the captions in Premiere?

FireCut’s docs say its styled captions are inserted as .PNG images that you edit through FireCut, and a text-only mode makes a native Premiere captions track. AutoReel’s captions are Premiere graphics whose text you can edit.

Does either one upload my video?

AutoReel’s video files stay on your computer: it uploads the audio it needs to transcribe your footage, and the transcript text is processed by AI services. FireCut says an internet connection is required for its AI and transcription features; the FireCut pages we read don’t say what is uploaded.

Is this comparison neutral?

No comparison written by one of the two makers is neutral, and we make AutoReel. So every FireCut fact comes from FireCut’s own pages, linked and dated, and we leave out any opinion of its quality. Spot an error? Email support@pxlsafe.com and we’ll fix it.

Sources, checked 22 October 2026

Spot something out of date? Email support@pxlsafe.com and we’ll fix it. Product names on this page are trademarks of their owners. PxlSafe isn’t affiliated with or endorsed by the other companies named here.