pxlsafeadobe video partnerChecked

Comparison · AI reel editors

AutoReel vs OpusClip for talking-head reels

OpusClip finds short clips in a long video. AutoReel edits the take you filmed into a reel, inside Premiere Pro.

OpusClip is a web app: upload a long video or paste a link, and it picks the moments, adds captions and reframes them for social, with export to Premiere on its Pro plan. AutoReel is a Premiere Pro plugin for the reel you filmed: it keeps your best take, cuts the pauses, punches up the hook and adds captions, color and sound effects on your timeline. It’s in beta.

The AutoReel mascot, a monkey with film-reel ears and a headset, weighs two cards on a balance: a finished vertical reel with captions and a set of separate editing tools.

Which one fits you?

Two different starting points: a long video, or a take you filmed for one reel.

Fits better if…

OpusClip

  • You start from a long video. A podcast, stream, webinar or interview: OpusClip picks the moments and turns them into short clips.
  • You don’t edit in Premiere Pro. It runs in the browser, and you can post from it to your social platforms.
  • You want B-roll added. Its paid plans add stock and AI B-roll. AutoReel doesn’t add B-roll.
  • You want more than 9:16. Pro reframes to 9:16, 1:1 and 16:9.
  • You want to start free. Its free plan exports with a watermark, and files expire after 3 days.
Fits better if…

AutoReel

We make this
  • You filmed the take for one reel. AutoReel keeps your best take and cuts the double takes, ums, false starts and pauses.
  • You edit in Premiere Pro. It builds the reel as a new Premiere sequence, with no XML to import.
  • You want to edit the captions in Premiere. AutoReel’s captions are Premiere graphics with editable text. OpusClip’s come in as overlays.
  • You want your footage graded. AutoReel applies a look you pick, converting log footage first.
  • You want sound effects on your cuts, and zooms and hook text on the first seconds.
  • You’d rather keep your video on your computer. Only the audio is uploaded, for transcription.

How AutoReel edits a reel

Screen recordings of the panel in Premiere Pro. We make AutoReel; this is what the trial gives you.

It keeps your best takeDouble takes, ums, repeats and false starts come out. The take that lands stays, without sorting them by hand.
Start your $1 trial

Try AutoReel on your own footage: 3 days for $1 with 3 reels.

What AutoReel doesn’t do

Worth knowing before you try it.

The AutoReel mascot raises one hand as if taking an oath, the other hand on a red-brown manual.
  • It doesn’t clip long videos. It edits one talking-head reel at a time. OpusClip is built for cutting clips out of long videos.
  • It doesn’t run outside Premiere Pro. It’s a panel for Premiere Pro on Mac and Windows, not a web app.
  • It doesn’t add B-roll or music. It adds sound effects on the cuts; B-roll and music are yours to add.
  • It doesn’t post to social platforms. You export from Premiere and post as you normally do.
  • It doesn’t edit offline. The audio it needs is uploaded for transcription, and the transcript goes to AI services. Your video files stay on your computer.
  • It isn’t unlimited. Monthly includes 50 reels a month and Yearly 1,000 a year.
  • It isn’t out of beta. It edits reels end to end and is still improving.

Side by side

As of 23 October 2026.

Left: AutoReel, from our own pages. Right: OpusClip, from its pages. “Not stated” means the cited pages don’t say. Prices are in USD as listed on 23 October 2026.

AutoReel and OpusClip, as of 23 October 2026.
QuestionAutoReel (us)OpusClip
What it doesSource: pxlsafe.com/autoreel · opus.proEdits the talking-head take you filmed into one reel: best take, no pauses, a punched-up hook, captions, color and sound effectsOpusClip turns long videos into high-quality viral clips, and publishes them to all social platforms in one click.
Where it runsSource: pxlsafe.com/autoreel · opus.proInside Premiere Pro, on Mac (the helper needs macOS 13 or later) and Windows. Every bundled graphic needs Premiere Pro 2026A web app, and an API. You upload files or drop a video link
How it reaches PremiereSource: pxlsafe.com/autoreel · OpusClip help: Premiere · OpusClip pricingBuilt as a new Premiere sequencePro plan only: Export to XML for each short, then import the .xml and .srt into Premiere. One short at a time, for videos up to 1.5 hours
Takes, filler words and pausesSource: pxlsafe.com/autoreel · OpusClip pricingDouble takes, ums, repeats and false starts come out, the take that lands stays, and long silences are cutIt picks the moments for each clip; text-based editing on Starter and up. Filler-word and pause removal: not stated
CaptionsSource: pxlsafe.com/autoreel · OpusClip help: Premiere · OpusClip pricingCustom captions, timed to your speech, as Premiere graphics with editable textAI captions on every plan, with a watermark on Free. In Premiere they will be exported as overlays and cannot be edited in Premiere Pro; import the .srt to style them there
ReframingSource: pxlsafe.com/autoreel · OpusClip pricingNot listed on our page9:16 on Starter; 9:16, 1:1 and 16:9 on Pro
ColorSource: pxlsafe.com/autoreel · opus.proPick a look and it’s applied as part of the edit. Log footage is converted firstNot stated
Sound effectsSource: pxlsafe.com/autoreel · opus.proFlashes, shutters, drops and risers, timed to your cutsNot stated
B-rollSource: pxlsafe.com/autoreel · OpusClip pricingNot added; it’s yours to addStarter: 3 AI image and 3 stock clips a month. Pro: AI video B-roll, and unlimited stock
What’s uploadedSource: pxlsafe.com/autoreel · OpusClip pricingThe audio, for transcription; the transcript goes to AI services. Your video files stay on your computerThe video you upload or link, up to 10GB per video on Free. Stored files expire after 3 days on Free and 29 days on Starter; Pro has 100GB of storage
PriceSource: pxlsafe.com/autoreel · OpusClip pricingMonthly $29/mo or Yearly $249/yr. Every feature on bothFree; Starter $15 a month; Pro $29 a month; Business custom
Usage limitsSource: pxlsafe.com/autoreel · OpusClip pricing50 reels a month on Monthly, 1,000 a year on YearlyMonthly credit allowances: not stated on the pricing page
TrialSource: pxlsafe.com/autoreel · OpusClip pricing3 days for $1 with 3 reels. Nothing more is charged until day 3A free plan, no card. Starter and Pro offer a free trial; its length isn’t stated
TeamSource: pxlsafe.com/autoreel · OpusClip pricingOne person, on up to 2 devicesTeam workspace on Pro, up to 4 users; unlimited seats on Business

OpusClip alternatives for Premiere Pro

Premiere Pro panels that edit talking-head footage. The full comparison, with prices, is in our AI reel editor guide.

Premiere Pro panelWe make this

AutoReel

Builds the reel in one pass: best take, no pauses, a punched-up hook, captions, color and sound effects.

Price
$29/mo or $249/yr, 3 days for $1 with 3 reels
Premiere Pro and DaVinci Resolve panel

FireCut

Its Magic cut turns a raw talking-head recording into a first edit inside Premiere Pro.

AutoReel vs FireCut
Premiere Pro and DaVinci Resolve panel

AutoCut

A tool for each step of a talking-head edit, plus clipping long videos into shorts.

AutoReel vs AutoCut

Questions people ask

Plans, the trial and installing are on the AutoReel page.

Is AutoReel an alternative to OpusClip?

For some jobs. OpusClip is a web app that turns long videos into short clips: it picks moments from a podcast, stream or interview, adds captions and reframes them. AutoReel is a Premiere Pro plugin that edits talking-head videos into reels: you film the take for one reel, and it keeps your best take, cuts the pauses and adds captions, color and sound effects on your timeline. If you start from a long video, OpusClip fits the job; if you start from a take you filmed for a reel and edit in Premiere, AutoReel does.

Does OpusClip work with Premiere Pro?

By export, on its Pro plan. Its help says you click Export to XML on a clip, then import the .xml and .srt files into Premiere, one short at a time, for videos up to 1.5 hours. Its captions come in as overlays you can’t edit in Premiere, unless you import the .srt instead. AutoReel builds the reel as a new sequence in Premiere, with captions whose text you can edit.

How do the prices compare?

OpusClip lists a free plan with a watermark, Starter at $15 a month and Pro at $29 a month, with export to Premiere on Pro, as of 23 October 2026. AutoReel is $29/mo for 50 reels a month or $249/yr for 1,000 reels a year, and the trial is 3 days for $1 with 3 reels.

Does either one upload my video?

OpusClip works on the video you upload or link to its web app. AutoReel keeps your video files on your computer: it uploads the audio it needs to transcribe your footage, and the transcript text is processed by AI services.

Is this comparison neutral?

No comparison written by one of the two makers is neutral, and we make AutoReel. So every OpusClip fact comes from OpusClip’s own pages, linked and dated, and we leave out any opinion of its quality. Spot an error? Email support@pxlsafe.com and we’ll fix it.

Sources, checked 23 October 2026

Spot something out of date? Email support@pxlsafe.com and we’ll fix it. Product names on this page are trademarks of their owners. PxlSafe isn’t affiliated with or endorsed by the other companies named here.